Bestpiercing.com

Aftercare

Saline spray for piercings: NeilMed, H2Ocean and wound wash compared by label

Saline spray for piercings compared: what NeilMed, H2Ocean, Steri-Wash and store wound wash list on the label, and which ones pass the APP's ingredient test.

  • Updated November 3, 2026
  • 3 min read
Single-use pods of sterile saline labelled 0.9% sodium chloride
Photo by Whispyhistory via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0.
On this page
  1. How the sprays compare
  2. The test
  3. NeilMed
  4. Plain wound wash
  5. H2Ocean
  6. How to use it

What to buy, at a glance

Best forWhat to look forLink
Made for piercingsNeilMed Piercing AftercareThe maker lists pharmaceutical-grade water and sodium chloride, with no preservatives, in a bag-on-valve can.
  • 75 mL or 177 mL
  • Sterile
  • Sprays upside down
Check price
Plain wound washSterile saline wound washThe type of product the APP names. Check that the panel shows sodium chloride and water and nothing else.
  • 0.9% sodium chloride
  • Check the label
Check price
Small spray bottleSteri-Wash saline piercing washA studio retailer lists purified water and sterile 0.9% USP sodium chloride, with a twist-lock fine mist cap.
  • 3 oz or 8 oz
  • Not bag-on-valve
Check price

Each button opens an Amazon search, not one product we have tested. Check that the listing states the gauge, size and material, such as ASTM F136 titanium. Amazon shows the current price. As an Amazon Associate, Best Piercing earns from qualifying purchases.

The best saline spray for a piercing is the plainest one: sterile, labeled as a wound wash, with 0.9% sodium chloride and water on the label and nothing else. That is the test the Association of Professional Piercers (APP) sets, and it is easy to check in a shop.

We compared labels and makers’ own statements, as read in November 2026. We have not tested these sprays on piercings, and we found no independent study comparing them.

How the sprays compare

Product Listed ingredients APP test? Sterile, per
NeilMed Piercing Aftercare Pharmaceutical-grade water, sodium chloride Yes The maker
Steri-Wash Purified water, sterile 0.9% USP sodium chloride Yes A retailer; it describes the salt as sterile
Store-brand wound wash Varies, so read the panel Only if it lists sodium chloride and water alone FDA device records for some brands
H2Ocean Sea Salt Body Piercing Spray Purified water, sea salt 0.9% Not as written, because it lists sea salt Not stated on the page
H2Ocean Piercing Aftercare Spray Purified water, sea salt, lysozyme, sodium citrate No, it adds ingredients The maker
H2Ocean Foam Soap Includes benzalkonium chloride 0.13% No, the APP says to avoid it Not stated

The test

The APP’s aftercare page says to use a sterile saline labeled for use as a wound wash, and that the ingredients should list 0.9% sodium chloride as the only ingredient, though purified water is sometimes listed too.

It also says additives such as moisturizers and antibacterials should be avoided, along with similar-sounding products: contact lens saline, nasal spray and eye drops. Mixing your own sea salt solution is no longer something it suggests. Our aftercare products guide covers the rest of the shopping list.

NeilMed

NeilMed says the label of its piercing spray shows pharmaceutical-grade water and sodium chloride, and that it is free from preservatives. Its can uses bag-on-valve technology, which the maker says keeps the contents sterile and lets it spray upside down. It comes in 75 mL and 177 mL sizes, and the maker labels it to cleanse minor wounds and piercings.

Those are NeilMed’s own statements, but the ingredient list is what the APP asks for.

On AmazonNeilMed Piercing AftercareCheck the listing states the gauge, size and material.

Check price

Plain wound wash

Wound wash from a pharmacy can be the same formula without the piercing branding. FDA device records for store brands such as Signature Care and Family Wellness describe a sterile saline wound wash packaged in a bag-on-valve aerosol. Those records do not print the ingredient panel, so read the can before you buy.

On AmazonSterile saline wound washCheck the listing states the gauge, size and material.

Check price

H2Ocean

H2Ocean sells several products, and they are easy to mix up.

  • Piercing Aftercare Spray. The maker lists deionized or reverse osmosis purified water, sea salt, lysozyme and sodium citrate, and describes it as a sterile sea salt saline. It adds to the APP’s list. One retailer lists sodium benzoate in place of sodium citrate, so go by the can you are holding.
  • Sea Salt Body Piercing Spray. Purified water and 0.9% sea salt. This is much closer to the test, but it is sea salt rather than sodium chloride as the APP words it. The maker’s page says sea salt saline solutions are recommended by the APP. The APP aftercare page we read does not say that.
  • Foam Soap. The active ingredient is benzalkonium chloride 0.13%. The APP’s aftercare page says to avoid products containing it.

H2Ocean presents the sea salt and lysozyme as an advantage. We found no independent evidence either way, so we follow the APP’s test. If you want to read the label yourself, you can compare H2Ocean sprays on Amazon.

How to use it

The APP’s routine is short: spray with sterile saline while the piercing heals, then dry it with clean, disposable products such as gauze or cotton swabs. See piercing aftercare for the full routine, and piercing bumps if a lump has appeared.

If a piercing is hot, has spreading redness or thick colored discharge, or you feel unwell, see a doctor rather than trying a different spray.

Frequently asked questions

What saline spray is best for piercings?

One whose label lists 0.9% sodium chloride and water and nothing else. The Association of Professional Piercers asks for sterile saline labeled as a wound wash with that ingredient list. NeilMed's stated ingredients match it, and so do many plain wound washes if the panel shows only those two things.

Is H2Ocean good for piercings?

H2Ocean's Piercing Aftercare Spray lists purified water, sea salt, lysozyme and sodium citrate, so it does not match the APP's sodium-chloride-only test as written. The APP does not name H2Ocean. Its foam soap contains benzalkonium chloride, an ingredient the APP says to avoid.

Is NeilMed or H2Ocean better?

We have not tested either on healing piercings. On the label, NeilMed lists water and sodium chloride, which is what the APP asks for. H2Ocean's main spray adds lysozyme and sodium citrate, and the maker presents those as a benefit. We found no independent comparison, so the label is what we go on.

Can I use any wound wash on a piercing?

Yes, if it is sterile and lists 0.9% sodium chloride and water only. The APP's wording is a sterile saline labeled for use as a wound wash. Avoid versions with moisturizers or antibacterial additives, and do not swap in contact lens saline, nasal spray or eye drops.

How often should I spray a new piercing?

The APP gives no number. Our aftercare guide suggests twice a day. H2Ocean's own directions say 3 to 6 times a day, and that is the maker's instruction for its product, not APP advice.

Sources

  1. Association of Professional Piercers - Suggested aftercare for body piercingshttps://safepiercing.org/aftercare/
  2. NeilMed - Piercing aftercarehttps://www.neilmedpac.com/usa/piercing-aftercare/
  3. NeilMed shop - Piercing Aftercare Fine Misthttps://shop.neilmed.com/products/neilmed-piercing-aftercare-fine-mist
  4. H2Ocean - Piercing Aftercare Sprayhttps://h2ocean.com/piercing-aftercare-spray/
  5. H2Ocean - Sea Salt Body Piercing Sprayhttps://h2ocean.com/sea-salt-body-piercing-spray/
  6. H2Ocean - Body Piercing Foam Soaphttps://h2ocean.com/body-piercing-foam-soap-with-aloe-vera-1-7-oz/
  7. Infinite Body - Steri-Wash Saline Piercing Washhttps://infinitebody.com/products/steri-wash-saline-piercing-wash
  8. FDA AccessGUDID - Signature Care Saline Wound Washhttps://accessgudid.nlm.nih.gov/devices/00321130210009

This article is for education only and is not medical advice. If a piercing is hot, swollen, spreading redness, oozing yellow or green discharge, or you have a fever, see a doctor today.

Before you go

Short on time? Start here

Each button opens an Amazon search. Check that the listing states the gauge, size and material. As an Amazon Associate, Best Piercing earns from qualifying purchases.